News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Success at last

Started by PopeyesPappy, February 27, 2016, 08:19:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

PopeyesPappy

I've been trying for a month to make a loaf of simple sourdough bread. It's just flour, water, salt and yeast. How hard can it be? Apparently pretty damn because it took me a dozen tries to get one to come out.

Save a life. Adopt a Greyhound.

GreatLife

I am a baker myself... lived in San Francisco for ten years and learned how to make bread from a local.

Looks like a great loaf.

A hint... You should use a proofing basket in order to enhance the shape - very easy and produces a great loaf.

http://www.amazon.com/Round-Proofing-Basket-Banneton-Brotform/dp/B006WBMT0K

stromboli

I assume you are talking about making the starter, since you make that from yeast, flour and water. Never made it. Made my own yogurt for awhile- that is actually pretty easy.

PickelledEggs

Sourdough is so good. Love putting potato soup in it, or chowder.

PopeyesPappy

Yea I made it with a wild yeast starter that I began work on back around Christmas when it was in the 70's around here. I used an 8.5" Round Banneton basket for the second rise then cooked it in a dutch oven at 500 for 20 minutes with the lid on then at 425 for another 30. Moving from the basket to the preheated 500 degree pot was a bit problematic. Hopefully my technique will improve with practice.

Hijiri Byakuren

Still a better cook than me. I still manage to fuck up toast sometimes, and it's not like it requires a lot of human interaction to make.
Speak when you have something to say, not when you have to say something.

Sargon The Grape - My Youtube Channel

PopeyesPappy

Quote from: GreatLife on February 27, 2016, 08:28:59 PM
A hint... You should use a proofing basket in order to enhance the shape - very easy and produces a great loaf.

Do you use a liner in your basket? I don't have one but was thinking about ordering one.

PopeyesPappy