On the difference between the rational and non-rational life

Started by trdsf, April 25, 2015, 02:09:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

trdsf

Quote from: TrueStory on April 26, 2015, 10:49:54 PM
Are you a musician or good at kareoke?  I mean it's not like you are starting at the begining of a song, singing the exact lyrics and tempo and hit right on it, or maybe you are?  Also it's not a coincidence that the station you prefer plays the same songs over and over again that they also prefer.
I am a musician, in fact, and I'm by and large starting at or near the beginning and carrying on.  And even though it's a channel dedicated (or Dead-icated) to one band (and their various solo/side projects, so their songs are in the mix, too), it's a band with a huge repertoire, and I'm catching the concert hour when I tune in, so I'm getting not only the band's original songs, but the covers they've done.

Isn't statistics fun?  :D
"My faith in the Constitution is whole, it is complete, it is total, and I am not going to sit here and be an idle spectator to the diminution, the subversion, the destruction of the Constitution." -- Barbara Jordan

trdsf

Okay, I have my concert stats in hand, and the song I nailed today was even more frequently played than the first one.  The raw percentage is 0.87% of getting the correct song, although I should imagine that getting as close as I did to being in synch would shrink the odds considerably.

Even so, we're still not in the area of the odds necessary to hit the Powerball, or the MegaMillions.  It's probably in the vicinity of the odds of being struck by lightning once in your lifetime: about 1 in 12000.

I'll keep that in mind the next time I'm outdoors during a storm.
"My faith in the Constitution is whole, it is complete, it is total, and I am not going to sit here and be an idle spectator to the diminution, the subversion, the destruction of the Constitution." -- Barbara Jordan

trdsf