News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Rights

Started by Contemporary Protestant, February 18, 2015, 10:53:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Contemporary Protestant

What are a person's rights in your opinion? As a young person (18), I see millennials act like entitled little brats. I live in a town where kids drive new BMWs and have their entire education paid for, yet they still say things like "its not fair that the teacher only gave us three days to do a project" or being glad that one teacher is in the hospital and sick, so that the class will be easier for them.

I am also studying Locke and legal documents, and I wondered "are they wrong about what our rights are?" so I ask y'all for you're take on the topic

dtq123

Watch who you call brats, I'm one of them.

Seriously though, have you seen my posts?

I know what you mean though, my friends got angry for getting a wrong phone type.

"It's just not the same!" :sad: Teens act like the world revolves around them.

Even I succumb to that occasionally.
A dark cloud looms over.
Festive cheer does not help much.
What is this, "Justice?"

SGOS

It's human greed.  It exists throughout all strata of society.  People want stuff, and they want to do as little as possible to get it.  This is true for the poor lined up for food stamps, and the CEOs of the most wealthy companies.  Where do you suppose teens get their sense of entitlement?

Seriously, I believe rights are something that are conferred by society.  I don't believe inalienable rights exist.  That would be like saying there is a universal morality.  Society determines rights through legal means.  It also confers rights through unspoken means.  At one time, people had the right to own slaves.  That right was a matter of tradition, but it was an unspoken entitlement, not defined by law.

Sal1981

Quote from: Contemporary Protestant on February 18, 2015, 10:53:14 PMWhat are a person's rights in your opinion?