News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Hello. Im a Student

Started by YouCanCallMeDave, February 26, 2014, 12:59:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Plu

Quote from: "YouCanCallMeDave"When you refer to Atheists as not being 'law-less'  ,  is this in reference to crime/road laws/civil laws  ?  

Yeah. Religious laws can generally be divided into silly laws and common sense laws, and most common sense laws make it into civil law. Atheists tend to follow civil law, because society would be real shit without them. But really we're just people, and most people follow the law of the land for whatever reason, whether it's 'not wanting to go to jail' or 'feeling its the right thing' or just 'doing as told'. Atheism doesn't play into it as much as you'd think.
(Remember: atheism is not some kind of standard to live by. Atheists need something else for that, as atheism is just a rejection of gods, and rejecting gods doesn't tell you anything about what to do with the rest of your life.)

QuoteAlso,  does it refer to NON-laws yet disgraceful behavior which include adultery , orgies,  and the like ?    

What makes you think orgies are disgraceful? That sounds like religious teaching to me. I don't have any problems with what consenting adults do in the privacy of their own homes, and I have engaged (and will again) in group sex things. And my girlfriend is there with me, having just as much fun as me. (Sometimes more.)
As to adultery; again it varies from person to person but I personally consider it a breach of trust (since it involves doing something you've either verbally or silently agreed not to do) and all breaches of trust are bad things that I wouldn't engage in.

QuoteI guess what im trying to decipher within the Atheist Community is :