Would Atheists support welfare? Why?

Started by mediumaevum, March 02, 2014, 02:18:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mediumaevum

EDIT:
--------------
Given the amount of misunderstanding of this thread, I can tell you that I am NOT a Social Darwinist. This post is showing my concern about accepting Darwin's ideas as
being used in a political context (Social Darwinism) to "improve" society. I am not a proponent of this idea, quite the contrary.

--------------

Give me some reasons why Atheists should support welfare, given Darwinian evolution says that those unfit to live, should die off.

It's one of THE main reasons I am still clinging to my beliefs: Darwinian Evolution would mean the weak should die off, either by forced suicide, execution (forced euthanasia) or by hunger.

According to Evolution, there really is no need for people in permanent need of welfare. In-fact, Evolution tells us that people in need of permanent welfare, who will
always, permanently be more costly than beneficial for society as a whole, should die off.

There is a logic in providing temporary welfare for those temporarily
ill or temporarily disabled, in order to make them healthy individuals capable of getting re-included in the workforce, but those who are permanently without ability to work in order to sustain themselves, is not just unworthy, they are a harm to society, according to Darwinian Evolution.

I would like to know an Atheist response to this, in favor of Welfare for the permanently needy, based
on Atheism.

The only one I can think of is the Survival of the Fittest argument:
If the "Fittest" becomes "unfit", before he is getting unfit, he would like to have assurance that he could get help, if he should be permanently unfit, sometime in the future.

But this could easily be solved with the Fittest paying for an Insurance himself. This would not include those who are unfit from birth.

Moriarty