News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Checking in

Started by red, August 29, 2013, 03:24:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

red

Hello I'm Red.
I studied Zoology at University with a leaning towards Ecology and Countryside Management.
For various reasons I ended up working in a Mental Health Day Centre.
I've been a non-believer since primary school, (I was sent to a catholic school and became aware that they were talking out of their rear ends quite early).
I 'debated' with Creationists/Intelligent Design Proponents on the internet since about 2000 (after overcoming the initial surprise to find a living population) though they became noticeably quieter after the Dover Trial.
I'm now trying to find a way to undermine the proselytizing by a particular church of the vulnerable adults that attend the Centre where I work.

Colanth

You probably can't.  They've been indoctrinated, since before birth, that if they stop believing all the bullshit they'll {go to hell|become immoral|something else terrible} (or all of them and more).  The best you can do is educate them, one subject at a time as it comes up, and hope that something will rub off on one of them.  If you convert 2 fundies to rationality you're doing as well as anyone can be expected to do.  Three, and you should publish your method.

And welcome.
Afflicting the comfortable for 70 years.
Science builds skyscrapers, faith flies planes into them.

Plu

Welcome to the forums :)

red

Quote from: "Colanth"You probably can't.  They've been indoctrinated, since before birth, that if they stop believing all the bullshit they'll {go to hell|become immoral|something else terrible} (or all of them and more).  The best you can do is educate them, one subject at a time as it comes up, and hope that something will rub off on one of them.  If you convert 2 fundies to rationality you're doing as well as anyone can be expected to do.  Three, and you should publish your method.

And welcome.