News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Hello friends

Started by Bobbotov, September 03, 2013, 11:11:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobbotov

Just discovered this forum and thought I would join. I am 66 and have been an atheist since I was 12. My family were Methodists and they tried their best to make me a good Methodist as well. My father was a choir director and my mother was a Sunday school teacher. But, unfortunately for them the plan backfired and instead they raised a free thinker.

I actually liked aspects of the church I went to. Here is a picture of it:

Since I was an artist I was very attracted to the stained glass windows and spent the agonizing hours in church services staring at them until I got into some kind of trance state and could tune out the droning Minister's religious-babble. The church had a beautiful Aelion-Wurlitzer pipe organ that was just magnificent. Since my Dad was choir director I learned a great deal about religious music a la Bach, Mozart, Hayden, St. Saens, etc. I am also a musician and the genius and beauty of the music was something I recognized albeit without any religious association. It was beautiful in its own right. As were the stained glass windows which had been designed in Germany at great expense to the church. And they were real stained glass not the ersatz types seen today of just painted glass. I still love stained glass regardless of subject and the illumination quality later affected the way I painted my own art.