Another Species of Human

Started by SGOS, June 26, 2021, 04:35:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SGOS

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/06/25/science/dragon-man-skull-china.html?campaign_id=2&emc=edit_th_20210626&instance_id=33979&nl=todaysheadlines&regi_id=129705843&segment_id=61846&user_id=33a2a6e6868fd65c48b0f219d16ed7c2

It was years ago studying physical anthropology that I learned about this "Man" or that "Man".  It was one of the most enjoyable classes I ever had, and as a Freshman, I considered changing my major, but then what would I do with a degree in anthropology?  We know less about ourselves than we do the truly ancient dinosaurs, and since my college days, much of what we knew has been reorganized, with a more refined chain of human ancestry.

Now this new fellow comes along.  We no longer hear about the missing link, as if there is only one of them that needs to be discovered to prove we came from the apes.  I guess that argument has run it's course, but this one may do nicely.  Dragon Man is not part dragon.  He was discovered in Dragon Valley, just so that that the anti-evolution folks don't get confused.

And at this time, it's interesting, but we still need to see what the scientists actually think after the media is done with it.  It does seem like a rather important find, however.

Gawdzilla Sama

We 'new atheists' have a reputation for being militant, but make no mistake  we didn't start this war. If you want to place blame put it on the the religious zealots who have been poisoning the minds of the  young for a long long time."
PZ Myers

Cassia

I think I ran across one drinking a pina colada at Trader Vic's. Every hair was perfect.

SGOS