News:

Welcome to our site!

Main Menu

Compliment or insult?

Started by Mr.Obvious, June 02, 2016, 01:48:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mr.Obvious

As some may or may not know, one of my hobbies is amateur theatre. I've been doing this for about 14 years now, and it was one of the best decisions of my life. Some of my best youth-memories were in that troop I grew up with as a kid and a bunch of us have remained friends for this decade and a half now, still remaining in the theatre group, though now in the adult section. With some luck, we might stay friends for the rest of our lives. Plus I never feel so much alive as I do standing in front of crowd acting. There is something just so... worthwhile about working towards a production, giving it your all and building off people you know you can count on to tell a story together.

Six of us, all in our early to mid-twenties now who were in the same youth-group when we were kids finally decided to bring another production to the stage together. Though we all hang out, I haven't played with some of them in a decade as we do different productions a year. But we all really wanted to do this.
So we picked a play (most likely, still looking into one more for an alternative but I think we got it.) Last night when watching football the conversation drifted to the casting absentmindedly. And something came from that conversation that has me puzzled.
The play is about 4 people who abduct a hospitalized suspected serial killing pedophile. They lock him up in a basement, get one of the moms of the lost kids to confront him and try to get him to confess to his supposed crimes on tape and put it online all before killing him. It's left a bit open if the guy actually did it, at the end, but he does seem like a sick and twisted and seriously creepy individual none-the-less. Without a doubt, the suspected pedophile is the most  intriguing part and the one with most depth (perhaps aside from the mom).